Sweatin’ to the Oldies

I saw recent pictures of myself, and have decided that I am too heavy right now.

I’m not overly concerned about my weight. I go up and down the scale pretty regularly, and just happen to be on the heavy-side right now. I tend to refer to these periods of weight gain as my body’s need to feel more substantial – a need to be a larger presence in the world when my spirit is feeling small. I eat too many candy bars and donuts because I am always craving sugar, and end up not fitting into my jeans.

But, like all phases, my desire to lose weight eventually kicks in and I make efforts to lose the belly fat. Plus, I have a wedding to attend at the end of July – a gathering of Aunts, Uncles, and over 30 cousins whom I have not seen in over 5 years. I would like to look halfway decent when I go to this family reunion, and losing 15 pounds would be a good start.

I will be making smoothies, going for walks, and probably trying out this Advocare cleanse stuff that I’ve had in the back of my pantry for a long time. I have good recipes for cinnamon apple water and lemon cucumber water, and I have a lot of free time right now to focus on this.

I would post a photo of how I look ‘now’ – but I don’t want to. I wish I could find my DVD of Richard Simmons’ Sweatin to the Oldies, but I think it got thrown away at least three moves ago. Think I’ll go on Ebay and see if I can find one for sale.

Drinking a blueberry strawberry smoothie right now. I think I’ll add a touch of honey next time. Things are looking up.

About S.L. Schmitz

S.L. Schmitz lives in Indian Trail, NC with her husband and son. There is an ever-changing menagerie of cats who graciously allow the family to share the house with them. In addition to reading and writing, she enjoys scrapbooking, drinking martinis, and making snarky comments about a variety of topics. Feel free to email her at thedeadgirl25(at)yahoo(dot)com

Posted on July 1, 2012, in About Me and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

