About Me

I am S.L. Schmitz. I live in North Carolina in the United States with my husband,
son, and four cats.

It is very strange to write about myself. I was a teenager in Chicago during the 1980’s, and am heavily influenced by the punk, gothic and industrial musicscene from that time  period. My musical influences include Patti Smith, Nick Cave, Tom Waits, the Cure, Bauhaus, Skinny Puppy, Rites of Spring, and the Swans. I can still rock that Siouxsie Sioux black eye make up, if the right
event came around!

I respect and admire so many different authors, so I couldn’t possibly just list
a bunch of names. I think that would be insincere. Instead, let me just say that I can never get tired of reading Patti Smith or RayBradbury. I adore John Shirley, both the man and the myth. More recently, I have become deeply enamoured with the
Mythpunk genre, particularly the writings of TheodoraGoss and Amal El-Mohtar.

Last year, I couldn’t decide if I was insulted or not when someone told me that I
was an ‘enigma’. I may look quiet and unassuming, but I have the heart and soul
of an Aquarian Rebel. You know what they say – never judge a book by its cover.

Unless it is one of my books.

In that case, I hope you are able to see the images in each word which I have carefully
chosen, and that the unraveling embroidery of my story speaks volumes to you.

Don’t ever forget how to fly-

S.L. Schmitz

About S.L. Schmitz

S.L. Schmitz lives in Indian Trail, NC with her husband and son. There is an ever-changing menagerie of cats who graciously allow the family to share the house with them. In addition to reading and writing, she enjoys scrapbooking, drinking martinis, and making snarky comments about a variety of topics. Feel free to email her at thedeadgirl25(at)yahoo(dot)com

Posted on November 13, 2011, in About Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

